Grants & Awards (personal grants, stipends, scholarships, not regular third party grants for research) 



Scholarships & Grants 



2014 – 2015                   Visiting Scholar, Stanford University
           “History of Ideas of Organized Education” Invitation by
            Prof. Sepp Gumbrecht, Department of Comparative Literature


2010                               Visiting Scholar, Stanford University
            Nomination Research Group “Universities of the 21
st Century”
            Invitation by Prof. Russell Berman and Prof. Sepp Gumbrecht
            Department of Comparative Literature


2006                               Herbert Quandt-Stiftung, Munich/Leipzig, Transatlantic Forum


2005                               Fulbright Stipend for the “Higher Education Expert Seminar”
                                        Boston University, Duke University, New York University,
                                       University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 


2004                               Herbert Quandt-Stiftung, Phoenix Arizona, Transatlantic Forum 


2000 –  2001                 Visting Researcher, Harvard Business School
           Invitation: Prof. Richard Meyer, Prof. Michael E. Porter
           and Prof. Michael Rukstad  
           M&A Case Study: DaimlerChrysler Post Merger Management 


1999 – 1999                   Visiting Researcher, Stanford University
            Sociology Department and the Graduate School of Business

                                       Invitation: Prof. Mark Granovetter

                                       Study: Frequent Acquirers in the High Tech-Industry, Silicon Valley



06/1995 – 12/1997         German National Merit Foundation
(Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes)  


01/1995 – 06/1995         German Academic Exchange Service for Japan-Research
                     (Deutscher Akademischer Auslandsdienst DAAD) 


10/1993 – 12/1997         „Eberle-Butschkau-Stiftung“, Foundation of the
German Sparkassen-Organization



Awards & Honors


2016                                 Nominated for the global ranking "50 Thinkers"

 2010 / 2009 / 2007     „40 unter 40 - Deutschlands junge Elite“ (Wissenschaft),  Capital 12/2010, 12/2009, 12/2007 

2008                                „6 visionäre Grenzgänger", Egon Zehnder International

2007                                „Die Top 50 Campus-Menschen" Focus Campus, 51/2007

2007                                „40 unter 40 “, ManagerMagazin, 10/2007 


2007                          „Die wilden 13 – Die kreativsten Köpfe Deutschlands”,
      GQ, Gentlemen´s Quarterly, September 2007. 


2006                           „100 Köpfe im Land der Ideen“ (“100 People in the Land of Idea“)
       Awarded by Federal President Prof. Dr. Horst Köhler,

                                   (see: Jutta Limbach, Peter Raue (Hrsg.): 100 Köpfe von morgen. Die Zukunft im Land der      
       Ideen, Königswinter: Heel, 2006, p. 96f.)


2006                           NEON Magazin „Die wichtigsten 100 Köpfe“, Dezember 2006


2004                           X.O-Award for Extraordinary People
       Hennessy and Financial Times Deutschland,
       November 2004, Frankfurt, Germany  


2004                           „35 unter 35 – Junge Elite in Deutschland” | WirtschaftsWoche 


2003                          „175 most important international Management Books”
      with „Oszillodox”, Awarded by: Publishing House Campus
      (see: Management, Frankfurt a.M./New York: Campus, p. 1643f.)


2003                          „101 Köpfe, auf die Sie achten sollten“, Financial Times Deutschland.


2001                          „Best national Managementbook of the Year 2000“ for „Oszillodox!“ (co-authored with Peter  
      Littmann) together with Robert S. Kaplan und David P. Norton: “The Strategy-Focused    
      Organization“ (international).
      Awarded by: Cap Gemini Ernst & Young, Europe.


2001                         „Most Innovative Concept in German Universities of the Year 2000“ Founding of the “Institute for  
      Mergers & Acquisitions (IMA)” 
      (Patroness: Edelgard Bulmahn,
      Federal Minister of Education and Research).